The art awards scheme for offenders, secure patients and detainees

We’re the UK’s best-known prison arts charity. We’ve been awarding, exhibiting and selling artworks by offenders, detainees and secure patients for over 50 years.

Our awards receive over 8,000 entries a year – inspiring offenders to take part in the arts, work for achievement and transform their lives. Our national exhibition attracts 20,000 visitors – showing the public the talent and potential of offenders and people in secure settings.

We have no endowment or capital – our work depends entirely on donations.

Read more about us

Wet Sunday, HM Prison Nottingham, First Koestler Award winner for Painting, 1962

Staff & Board

Board of trustees

  • Dame Anne Owers – Chair (appointed 2013) Former Chief Inspector of Prisons, Chair of IPCC
  • Ariane Bankes, Vice Chair – Arts & Education Freelance writer,  niece by marriage of Arthur Koestler
  • Herbert Nahapiet – OBE, Vice Chair and Treasurer Global Market Champion,  Sodexo Justice Services
  • David Banks – Former Director of G4S and GSL
  • Nicholas Bowlby – Fine Art Dealer
  • Stephen Chambers RA – Artist, and a member of the governing council of the Royal Academy.
  • Zelda Cheatle – Photography Consultant
  • Robert Kirby – Director of United Agents
  • Andy Lattimore – Governor of HMP Bullingdon
  • Andrea Rose OBE CMG – Former Director of Visual Arts at the British Council
  • Robert Taylor – Photographer
  • Femi Martin – Writer and Performer
  • Erwin James – Chief Editor of Inside Time

Honorary President

  • Lord Ramsbotham GCB CBE –  Former Chief Inspector of Prisons


  • Sally Taylor – Chief Executive

Arts team

  • Fiona Curran – Director of Arts (Tue – Fri)
  • Sarah Grainger-Jones – Deputy Director of Arts (pt Tue – Fri)
  • Nami Chikhlia – Exhibitions and Events Coordinator
  • Juliane Hémon – Sales and Events Coordinator
  • Laura Pattison – Arts Administrator
  • Fina Schneider – Arts and Exhibition Assistant
  • Lee Cutter – Arts and Exhibition Assistant (pt)

Outreach and Involvement Team

  • Sarah Mathève – Director of Outreach and Involvement (pt Wed – Fri)
  • Theo Scheiner – Mentoring Coordinator
  • Euan O’Byrne Mulligan – Outreach Administrator
  • Charis Dishman – Outreach and Arts Assistant (pt Thurs – Fri)

Fundraising and Support Team

  • Nathalie Bristow – Development Director
  • Mali Clements – Fundraising Assistant
  • Rosemary Rinn – Finance Officer (pt)